And you wonder why there is no peace… [poem]

I am not really a poet, but sometimes I feel things in poetry lines.  I wrote this after watching a documentary called Wretches and Jabberers (see below for the trailer).  It is the story of Tracy and Larry and how they learned to communicate their thoughts with the world.  The poem is also inspired by the young men and women I teach through Ashrams for Autism, a non-profit bringing yoga to children on the spectrum.

And you wonder why there is no peace

I am a wretch
I cannot speak
Speak…
Speak …
Speak the words bouncing in
This brain machine.

I am your wretch.
You squawk and squeak.
Squeak…
Squeak…
SQUAWK! These thoughts
they jab
jab jabber
at the inside ears.

I am the wretch.
I have no beak
This tongue
So ineffectually blab
Blab blabber
ing.

I am her wretch
Do you see me?
Or do you see
My hands nab
Nab nabber.

And all you people DO is gab
And blab
ALL you DO is
gab.

And all you people DO is gab
And blab
ALL you DO is
gab.

You can squawk
You can squeak
You can speak
You can can
CAN NOT,
You never,
You (sigh) …won’t

listen.

Watch the trailer for Wretches and Jabberers.  The movie is available for viewing on Netflix, or visit the website to find other places to watch this thought-provoking documentary.

Tell me what you think.

