Just for fun: Growing up in the 90s

This has nothing to do with yoga, or the sutras.  But does have a lot to do with who I am today.

Recently this BuzzFeed has been popping up on my Facebook.  I have to say it is a pretty accurate depiction, right down to the excessive use of butterfly clips that actually looked like butterflies.

For me the 90’s was middle school.  I remember most of my life at that time through songs and TV.

My first CD: Alanis Morrissette, Jagged Little Pill – My dad read the lyrics before giving it to me and explained the meaning of the “F” word in the front seat of his red truck.

The first CD I bought: Jewel, Pieces of You – She’s still one of my favorite artists

The first song I remember hearing on the radio: Ace of Base “I Saw the Sign” – My friend and I were on our way to the lake dance.  Her mom was driving.  We were in third grade and not technically allowed at the dance.  We went anyway.  I heard the security has gotten a lot tighter these days.

Favorite Boy Band: BSB or probably 98 Degrees, but they’ve been forgotten

Party song: “I Love You Always Forever” – danced to at the roller rink

Song I sang at the 8th grade dance: Mariah Carey “Hero” – I stood in front of the whole class and sang this over the mic with Mariah for my friend’s birthday, which happened to be the day of the dance.  To this day I am not sure how they convinced me to do this.  It was not in my nature at the time.

Most embarrassing moment: Barging in on a conversation between some of the cutest guys in class when I heard them talking about Billy Joe (of Green Day) with “I love Billy Joel.  I listen to him with my mom all the time.”  Smooth…

The show I couldn’t miss: 7th Heaven – We were only allowed an hour of TV a night, WB primetime definitely took up that hour.

Friday night was spent: Watching TGIF!  Loved Sabrina and Boy Meets World (I’m a little excited over this new Girl Meets World idea)

Show I wasn’t allowed to watch: Dawson’s Creek – The student/teacher affair was just so scandalous at the time! I watched it up in my parents room on a tiny camping tv with a broken remote.  I kept my foot on the channel button and changed the channel if someone walked in.  I’m not sure my parents believed I was really watching that much PBS.

Favorite Romantic Comedy: Drive Me Crazy (though now I’d probably say Clueless)

Favorite Movie: Titanic

I loved growing up in the 90s.  TV was light and fun (even the backstabbing was innocent), there was a never-ending line of teen romantic comedies and the Spice Girls ruled the world with girl power.  AOL instant messenger had just come on the scene and we were helping create a new shorthand language that has become the standard the world over in email, text and even spoken conversations.  You loaded games on the computer with an excessive amount of floppy disks and the internet took seven hours to launch.  Singer/Songwriters were huge and PLJ didn’t play any hip-hop or rap.  Shirts might have been short, but pants reached the waist, and pastels were the color of ever season.  Glitter got on everything and never came off.

I played outside, watched corny shows with my sister and talked about them with my friends.  I went to school and debated which was better, NSYNC or BSB in 8th grade art class with the popular kids, because we were all equal when it came to boy bands.  I longed for anything with a Tommy Hilfiger label and the cute shirts in the Delia’s catalog.  I shopped at Dots and picked out the shortest shirts my mom would allow.  I looked up to people like Jewel and Mariah Carey and longed for a soulmate like Dawson.  I saw Titanic twice in theaters and hung posters of Leonardo DiCaprio on my wall, my locker and anything else with a surface.  I taped songs off the radio and listened to my few cds (which eventually grew to hundreds) in my discman.

Every generation of girls has their things.  These are ours.

One thought on “Just for fun: Growing up in the 90s

  1. I love this post! I used to watch Doogie Howser MD on a tiny TV in my mum’s room, and I had forgotten about that until I read about you watching Dawson’s Creek. The 90s were a great decade to grow up in 🙂

Tell me what you think.

