No Man is an Island

Yoga helps us to go inward and connect with our higher self, the Seer.  But we are still part of a community.  No matter whether we want to be or not.  

This week in class I read a quote that has always stuck with me from Dawson’s Creek.  The main character Joey is having a conversation with her college professor about Walden Pond by Thoreau:

Mr. Kasden: [reading from a book] “Near the end of March, 1845, I borrowed an axe and went down to the woods by Walden pond. Nearest to where I…”

Mr. Kasden: What’s the most important word in that sentence?

Joey: Woods?

Mr. Kasden: Borrowed. The important thing to remember about The Transcendentalists, is that while self-reliance is a most admirable trait, Thoreau wasn’t really all that alone out there by Waldon pond. He had neighbour’s, friends, people he could rely on. We should all be so lucky.

Each of us is part of a larger community.  We have our family and friends, acquaintances and strangers.  These people have helped us to get where we are today.  We are all connected to these networks of people, these nets that hold us and keep us from smashing to pieces on the ground.

The great thing about community, large and small, is that they are there to support us in our endeavors.  In this business of yoga and “finding ourselves” it takes more than a mat to get us to enlightenment.  We need the people around us to help us grow.  It can be as simple as needing someone to watch your kids while you go to class or having a buddy ask how your practice is going to remind you someone cares.  These people lift us up and support us.

Directly after the quote read by Mr. Kasden, Thoreau goes on to say.

It is difficult to begin without borrowing, but perhaps it is the most generous course thus to permit your fellow-men to have an interest in your enterprise.

Allowing other people into our story brings it to life.  Think about how it feels when a friend shares their goal with you.  You feel a part of their success.  You take a vested interest in their endeavor.

To this end, I have started a small meditation support group with a few of my friends.  I had wanted to include more meditation in my daily life and I asked for the support of my friends to push me along and keep me honest.  Today is day 10 of 30.  One-third of the way to the goal.  It has been great to hear feedback from others going on the same journey and having people who care how I am doing with my goal.

Is there something you’d like to achieve?  Can you invite someone along to motivate and support you?  I never knew how good help was until I asked for it!

3 thoughts on “No Man is an Island

  1. Rachelle Smith Stokes

    That’s so awesome ! I just recently started a meditation “challenge” for myself. Its not really a challenge but a project of strength. I have less than a month at my current job and am using my meditation practice to help me get through it.

    I’m focusing on patience endurance and strength. One each week and using my blog as a journaling tool. I also started using insight timer app which is super awesome.

Tell me what you think.

